2009 Petronas Cub Prix


The PETRONAS AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championship returns for its 16th season with a brand new name, logo and announcements of new developments that are aimed at strengthening the fundamentals of the sport.
Chief amongst the changes for 2009 is the shift from 125cc to the 130cc in the Expert category, the premiere class of the PETRONAS AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championship. This bold move comes only a year after the Expert Class had been upgraded to the 125cc platform.

However, Ron Hogg, Promotions Director of Safe Aim Mutual Sdn Bhd explained that, "The 125cc class had always been meant to be a transitory class. The 130cc platform, which ensures fairer competition between the manufacturers, was always the main objective. By doing so, we expect Malaysian riders to become even more competitive in international meets against our neighboring countries, Thailand and Indonesia, that are already racing on this platform. On top of that, this move will open up opportunities for more transfer of technology between the three countries, in effect, lowering the cost of R&D as a whole."

The age-ceiling in the WIRA epg class will be lowered from 19 to 17 years old and restricted to private teams only. This is in line with the vision for the class since its inception in 2002. This class is a crucial instrument in the drive to bring young talents into the sport and its success has been highly visible. As of 2008, 35% of the Cub Prix grid is comprised of riders 18 years old and younger.
The Champions are also getting younger with every passing season. Last year, Abdul Muhaimin Roslan became the youngest ever Novice Champion. He was only 17 years old when he took the title. Another good example is Hafizh Syahrin Abdullah who became the youngest Yamaha Asean Cup Novice Champion last year.
More importantly, the WIRA epg class will now be restricted to private teams only. To elaborate, the Giants such as team Maju, Raceline, Ah Hong, SCK, Honda Racing, Yuzy Racing, YY Pang, and their peers will no longer be exerting their influence in this class. This policy will encourage the creation of more new teams and new players in Cub Prix which will, in turn, lead to more opportunities for new riders to get involved in the Championship.
The 2009 PETRONAS AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championship will also introduce a new privateer class to be run alongside the three open-make categories and the two one-make races which are the Yamaha 135LC Challenge and the Honda Icon Challenge Cup. This new class will use the same technical specifications as that of the WIRA epg category and is restricted to privateers only.
The Championship will also see a number of changes in its calendar this season with the addition of new host venues such as Alor Setar. "We have to take into account the economic realities that the entire industry is facing these days. The high running and operating costs involved in organizing these rounds, for the industry as a whole, has forced us to explore alternative options that will allow us to continue the momentum."

However, Ron stressed that the passion for motorsports ignited in Sabah and Sarawak will not be neglected. "We will endeavour to build on what we have been able to achieve over the past few years in Sabah and Sarawak. As an alternative, Cub Prix is currently tabling a subsidy scheme for riders from Sabah and Sarawak who have confirmed their participation in the entire season. Details of this supplementary programme will be released at a later date," he said by way of explanation.
Beginning this year, AAM will be giving out free racing boots to deserving young Novice Privateers. These riders will be identified from three Championships - the PETRONAS AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championship, the Malaysian Super Series and the Johor Series. This programme that AAM has embarked on is not just a one-off thing. Instead, it will be an annual affair. No doubt, there is a lot more to be done, but this is a step in the right direction towards encouraging more newcomers to join the sport.
Round 1 of the 2009 PETRONAS AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championship will kick off this March 20 at Alor Setar, Kedah.


Round Venue Date
1 Alor Setar, Kedah 20 & 21 March
2 Kluang, Johor 18 & 19 April

3 Kuala Terengganu 8 & 9 May
4 Kota Bharu, Kelantan 19 & 20 June
5 Sepang Circuit, Selangor 11 & 12 July
6 Batu Kawan, Penang 1 & 2 August
7 TBC 15 & 16 August
8 Kangar, Perlis 1 0 & 1 1 October
9 TBC 14 & 15 November
10 Sepang Circuit, Selangor 5 & 6 December


Anonymous said...

slm.. thanks for directing me here for updates in the motoring.. tu semua worait.. you covered it i assume.. tapi yang nak tanya ni.. apasal ada gambar 2 orang aweks at the end of the report.. tu pun ada changes in the age limit jugak ke.. hahhahaha just kidding.. so what have you been up to bro if not test driving/biking and covering these cub prix events?

Salihin Rahim said...

yg tu bawah kategori "new faces"
muka muka baru.....
boleh jugak dikategorikan sebagai
"model baru..."
sori la, tapi bila "Anonymous" ni
kena paggil Cik Anon kut....

vincent low said...

You missed out Melaka in the race schedule. Those reading my comment please check out www.thetrishawman.com for a truly charity cause.

Frankie Tan@theTrishawman peddling his beca from Melaka to Penang for a good cause

Salihin Rahim said...

TBC stans as
To Be Confirmed
the posting was during the initial launch